Posted by: Heather | January 20, 2009

Shemot (Names) Ex. 1-6:1

Last week as I prepared for a little study at my house on Exodus 1-6:1, I noticed the emphasis on seeing in this passage of scripture: Jocheved (Moses’ mom), Pharaoh’s daughter, Moses, God, the leaders of Israel, the Israelite foremen over the slaves, on and on and on, everywhere there are references to sight, even ending with the big one when the Lord says to Moses, “Now you will see what I will do…”
At first, I thought maybe this is a hint that Egypt is a place that tries to get believers discouraged by what they see. Looking back, that’s not entirely consistent with the text. There are at least as many references to seeing things that are encouraging and point to the coming deliverance. Now I wonder if one lesson is to see—really see—whatever is right in front of me and then make the right choice. Like Jocheved, see but don’t fear the king (Heb 11:23). Like Moses, see the blaze and turn aside if God is not where I am. Like Moses, see injustice, but know when to get involved and when to hold my tongue. Like Moses, see the one who is invisible and persevere (Heb 11:27).
I get the feeling that Moses had a choice to make at the end of this passage. He says, “Oh, Lord, why have you brought trouble upon this people? Is this why you sent me? Ever since I went to Pharaoh to speak in your name, he has brought trouble upon this people, and you have not rescued your people at all.” What anguish! God, I thought I was doing what you asked of me, but nothing good has come out of it! Is this why you sent me? To hurt the ones I was trying to help? You have not kept your end of the deal! And God says that he’ll see. Then the passage ends. That’s a hard place to stop. If we didn’t know the rest of the story, would we really expect Moses to keep going? Would we keep going?
Still musing…

What do you think?

Categories

