Posted by: Heather | January 2, 2012

What I’ve Been up To, Part I., Apples

No, really, apples. Apple after apple after glorious apple.

Two Bushels and a Peck

MacIntosh, Granny Smith, Cortland, and a peck of Red Delicious. Aren’t they pretty? I think it took me three weeks, working intermittently, of course, to get them all processed into 8 or more quarts of applesauce (thank you for your help, HR!), 3 quarts of sliced apples, and a number of bags of sliced apples that went flat into the freezer.

Only about 2 months later, half the applesauce is gone, the canned slices are used up, and I’ve already made one dip into the freezer for a throw-together pie. I’m tempted to get another bushel, but it was a lot of work and my days off are dwindling. So that’s part of what I was up to during the end of November and beginning of December.

Responses

  1. I have lived here in the apple orchard for nearly three years, watching the seasons flow through .. from barren, leafless trees in winter, to the glory of spring buds, to green and rosy red varieties, to picking season when the place fills up with travellers from all around the world who come to share the new friendships that develop as they work hand-in-hand taking that beautiful fruit from our trees. It’s a lovely place to visit during the early morning, a thoughtful (and thoughtfilled) place in winter, and a huge dose of abundance when you stop and look at God’s glory hanging from the trees. And then we have rabbits, hares, echidnas (hedgehogs), wombats, my two cats, and multitudes of birds, sharing the envirnonment every day. πŸ™‚

    Love & Peace
    Ama (in Australia)

    • It sounds so beautiful! The uncomfortable cold of winter is not my favorite, but there is something about the bare trees that inspires the peace and contemplation of your “thoughtful/thougtfilled” description. I have to admit being struck by the luminescence of the fresh-off-the-tree apple skins–and the smell! It must be heavenly to be right in the midst of it. An apple is such a small, simple, delightful, captivating thing. πŸ™‚ And how are you, Ama? I hope you’ve been well, and I hope to get back in the conversations on your blog. The end of last semester had me scrambling, and I’m already feeling the pinch of the coming one, so I may not be able to come over and play for a while yet, but I’ve not forgotten you! πŸ™‚


What do you think?

Categories

