Vayikra – The Korban

To what then shall I compare to the first two chapters of Leviticus, and what are they like? They are like God’s heart singing to our hearts this refrain from “Power of Your Love”:

Hold me close

Let your love surround me

Bring me near

Draw me to your side

That’s right: not us asking God to draw us near to him but God asking us to draw near to him.

The korban is an open invitation for us to draw near of our own free will with whatever means we have. If we have an animal from the herd or flock to bring, God will draw near. But if we have nothing but grain to bring, God will still draw near. It’s about what you have in your heart, not what you have in your hands.

James 4:8 says that if we draw nigh to God, he will draw nigh to us. What a comforting promise from Leviticus.

One thought on “Vayikra – The Korban

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑