Posted by: Heather | March 30, 2012

The Bible in 3-D

When I moved to Thornhill, Ontario, I remember seeing throngs of Orthodox Jewish families walking to synagogue as I was driving down Bathurst St. It was an ordinary day, overcast, unremarkable except that it was one of the strangest experiences of my life: as I looked at them, I saw scriptures in 3 dimensions! I saw Numbers 15:38 (tzitzit) swinging in the breeze. I saw the unmarred beards of Lev. 19:27. I was driving through a world where Exodus 20:8-11, the Sabbath, was not a tiny 2-dimensional square of text in an ancient book, but a 3-dimensional world. That 3-dimensional world became visible to me because those people were choosing to obey those 2-dimensional scriptures.

That’s the experience I think of when people talk to me about the law of God.

The law of God is not a curse (the curse of sin and death has been removed for us through Christ [Rom. 8:2]), not a burden (1 John 5:3),  and not too hard to do (Deut. 30:11-16).  Every God-breathed law implies a choice for someone somewhere at some time. In those moments when our lives intersect with one of God’s commands, we can choose to obey it or choose not to obey it. We can get the greatest possible spiritual potential from it, or we can disregard it. We can fulfill it or destroy it. We can bring the Word of God to life or close the book and make it of none effect.

We’re asked to do the word (Jam. 1:22). We hear it, believe it, and live it. May our understanding increase and may we see the opportunities God gives us follow Christ, to walk as Jesus walked in this world, to walk in all the ways the Lord our God commands us.

Responses

  1. I meant to comment on this when you first published it but then I forgot. Excellent observation! What you saw was Yahweh’s glory manifested through His children! We see His glory every day in nature but when people obey His mitzvoth, the Torah comes alive. It is evidence that Yahweh is real and that He does exist. (proof for you atheists out there)

    Storytime: I used to work with a guy who tried many different types of New Age religions and at the time, he was Wiccan. He said that they were all the same and all valid. I asked him if there was anyone that he knew of that exhibited a REAL change, noticeable by everyone. I emphasized not change as in doing rituals, but a real, inward heart change which in turn changed their lifestyle. He thought for a minute and said, “yes, this person believed in Jesus.” After this, he was quiet the rest of the shift and I could tell he was thinking about what HE said – not me. I wanted him to focus on the REAL power of Yahweh and forget about the false outward adornments of those false religions. I don’t know what happened to him afterwards because I moved. But hopefully that gave him something to think about.


What do you think?

Categories

