Posted by: Heather | March 13, 2014

“How can I glorify God in my response?” – A New Question

Do you have a default question you ask yourself or take to prayer when things don’t go well? One lady I know would ask, “Where does this fit in my maturation process, Lord?” That’s a good one. It kept her from holding grudges, so it worked for her. I’d been thinking about what question I could ask, and settled on this: “How can I glorify God in my response to this situation?”

I had the chance to try it out this week. First observation: I didn’t remember to ask the question right away. My first response was fear, a silent mind (rare!), and the will to quietly and slowly remove myself from the situation. But as soon as I was settled elsewhere in a quiet place, the question was the first coherent thought that came to my mind, and it was immensely comforting to be away from the situation and focused on the Lord.

So did it work? Well, yes, it worked in the sense that I was able to remain calm and felt a certain confidence that whatever happened next, I wouldn’t be alone in it. It also kept me from thinking about the circumstances, which in the end can’t possibly matter anyway though in the moment the circumstances often seem like the only thing that does. Do I know that how I ended up responding actually did glorify God? Nope, but there were a lot of things I didn’t do that I knew wouldn’t glorify God. That’s a step in the right direction, even if it’s just stepping away from what I know to be wrong.

What about you? Is there a question that helps you respond appropriately in difficult situations? If so, I’d love to hear it. If not, feel free to try out mine or my friend’s question and see if it helps.

Grace and peace, all,

Heather

What do you think?

Categories

